Last Call! Avoid the $400 penalty – Florida businesses

If you own a company or are responisble for filing your company’s Florida Annual Report, you have until TOMORROW, May 1, 2013 to file. The penalty for filing late is significant – $400.

Information on filing an Annual Report can be obtained at  You can submit your Annual Report and pay the filing fee online.  To do this, you will need the document number assigned to the business by the State.  This number is located in an email that you should have received from the State in January.  If you did not receive an email (or if you did not retain it), you can locate the number by searching the Sunbiz website for your business record.  Feel free to give our office a call if you would like us to walk you through the filing process.  We will gladly help you with this process!

The filing fees are as follows:

Filed by May 1      Filed after May 1

  • For profit corporation:              $150.00                   $550.00
  • Limited partnership:                 $500.00                   $900.00
  • Limited liability company:        $138.75                    $538.75

Also, do not forget that the act of filing your Annual Report does not negate the responsibility of businesses from following all statutory requirements to maintain those businesses, such as holding annual shareholder and board meetings (e.g., for corporations).




Comments are closed.